K and I disagree about many things, yet we’ve somehow managed to stay friends over the years.  Lately, we’ve been discussing Vanilla Sky, and chiefly how K felt this movie stole two hours and sixteen minutes of her life, while I found it enjoyable and interesting.  Much is made of the baffling coexistence of couples with differing political beliefs.  How could they possibly live together, people wonder, let along fornicate and procreate?  This wouldn’t be much of a problem for me; I could and in fact do go days without engaging in any political discussions (to the eternal frustration of K).  However, I couldn’t go a single day without discussing pop culture.  It’s such an integral part of my existence that to remove it would be fatal. 

So, how is it that K and I are able to remain friends when we disagree on topics as fundamental as Tom Cruise movies (or, more accurately, Cameron Crowe movies)?  The answer is simple: I like Vanilla Sky.  I’m not madly in love with it.  Were we to disagree on something one of us loved, well, that’d be a different section of the bookstore all together.  When one of us is utterly taken with something in the world of pop culture and officially plant a flag in it to claim our allegiance, the other understands that this particular topic is now off limits for disagreement. 

This is when we get all Minnesotan and express our indifference through polite euphemisms.  “It’s really more your kind of thing than mine,” we’ll tactfully comment.  “Though I enjoyed the way it was shot/appreciated the score/liked the inventive liner notes.”  Ergo, I am allowed to insult the Cranberries to my heart’s content but under no circumstances may I utter blasphemy against Lena Headey.  K may express her lack of enjoyment during A Life Less Ordinary, but by friendship law she is forbidden from suggesting Ewan McGregor was anything less than wonderful in it.  It is through these simple measures that K and I can still be friends.  Should we run out of polite euphemisms and find ourselves facing the approaching dead end of disagreement, well then, we can always talk about the Smashing Pumpkins.

T

